Task Force Press Release Report of the Task Force Studies and Meetings


The government announced, in the May 24, 2007 budget, that Claude Castonguay would chair the Task Force on the Funding of the Health System. The appointments of Joanne Marcotte and Michel Venne were made public when the Task Force was formed, June 27, 2007.

Claude Castonguay, chair

Claude Castonguay is an actuary by training. Apart from his professional activities, he was chair of the Commission d’enquête sur la santé et le bien-être social (1966-1970), member of the National Assembly of Québec (1970-1973), Minister of Health, the Family and Social Welfare (1970-1971), Minister of Social Affairs (1971-1973), Chair of the Québec government’s Task Force on Urbanization (1974-1976), member of the federal Anti-Inflation Board (1975-1976), member of the Canadian Industrial Renewal Board (1981-1986), member of the Québec government’s advisory panel on privatization (1986), a Canadian Senator (1990-1992), Chair of the Expert Panel on Drug Insurance (1995-1996), in addition to holding senior positions with public institutions, foundations and major Québec companies.

Joanne Marcotte, vice-chair

Joanne Marcotte has a background in information systems engineering. From 1988 to 1999, she was an information technology professional with the Confédération des caisses populaires Desjardins and with the Commission de la santé et de la sécurité du travail. Ms. Marcotte then became president of Arobas Services Conseils Inc. and executive assistant at Dundee Financial Services Ltd. From 2004 to 2006, she produced the documentary L’Illusion tranquille questioning the bases of the Québec model.

Michel Venne, vice-chair

Michel Venne has a background in communication and political science. He is the founder and director-geneal of the Institut du Nouveau Monde. He is the director of L’annuaire du Québec, published annually by Éditions Fides. He is a prolific speaker and the author of many scientific articles. He is a member of many committees and organizations including the Chantier sur la démocratie à la Ville de Montréal, the science committee on the assessment of the health system’s performance set up by the Commissaire à la santé et au bien-être du Québec, the policy board of the Centre de collaboration nationale sur les politiques publiques favorables à la santé. As a reporter with Le Devoir from 1990 to 2006, he was the paper’s parliamentary correspondent at the National Assembly, an editorial writer, director of information and columnist.

Top of page

Home | Site plan | To Reach Us | Québec Portal | Franšais
Task Force | Press Release | Report | Studies and meetings

© Gouvernement du Québec, 2008

Version française Home Page Site Map Québec Portal To Reach Us Mandate of the Task Force Members of the Task Force